book · contemporany · review · romance

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren [OPINION]

Hi readers, 

Today I decided to talk about the book ‘The Unhoneymooners’ by Christina Lauren which I finished not long ago. This is the first book that I read from these two authors (yes, they are two) and I want more. Besides being recommended to me by a friend, it’s probably one of the books that I most saw on e-mail recommendations. I had to know the reason of so much noise about this book (also every site I searched gives it a great score). More, I don’t know if it’s just me, but I love reading books that remind me of Summer when I’m on vacation (or at least, in the spirit of vacation) and the cover of this book screams Summer in full lungs. That said, I have to admit that I read this book in a weekend and I love it.

This is a light read – enemies to lovers, fake dating and bickering. All ingredients to a funny, sexy and engaging book. I was expecting a little more steamy scenes, but well, I’m happy with what the author gave me.

‘Olive is always unlucky: in her career, in love, in…well, everything. Her identical twin sister Ami, on the other hand, is probably the luckiest person in the world. her meet-cute with her fiancé is something out of a romantic comedy (gag) and she’s managed to finance her entire wedding by winning a series of Internet contest (double gag). Worst of all, she’s forcing Olive to spend the day with her sworn enemy, Ethan, who just happens to be the best man. 

Olive braces herself to get through 24 hours of wedding hell before she can return to her comfortable, unlucky life. But when the entire wedding party gets food poisoning from eating bad shellfish, the only people who aren’t affected are Olive and Ethan. And now there’s an all-expenses-paid honeymoon in Hawaii up for grabs.

Putting their mutual hatred aside for the sake of a free vacation, Olive and Ethan head for paradise, determined to avoid each other at all costs. But when Oliver runs into her future boos, the little white lie she tells him is suddenly at risk to become a whole lot bigger. She and Ethan now have to pretend to be loving newlyweds, and her lucky seems worse than ever. But the weird thing is that she doesn’t mind playing pretend. In fact, she feels kind of … lucky.’

In my opinion this book can be divided into two parts. The first part is funny, while the second is more serious, talking about problems such as trust, relationships and family.

Very briefly, the book tells the story of Olive and Ethan, who hate each other since the first meeting (due to a series of misunderstandings, and the hand of one person). Ami, Olive’s twin sister, who wins practically every contest she participates in, marries Ethan’s brother. And after the wedding reception fiasco, they decide to take their siblings honeymoon, instead of letting the trip go to waste. They won’t have to see each other except for sleeping, right? NO, because Olive’s new boss and Ethan’s ex girlfriend happen to be at the same resort, forcing them to play the part of happy newlyweds.

I understand why they agree to lie, Olive doesn’t want to get caught using her sibling’s honeymoon and be forced to pay for it and Ethan doesn’t want his ex to see him unhappy. And honestly, it’s just the perfect fake dating setup!

Then there’s the ‘dark’ part where we discover a kind of villain. The trust and family is very important in this book. I liked the relationship between the sisters, despite everything it is not easy to believe in something so big and important and Ami was a champion! The family union is phenomenal, they help each others with asking why and in hours! I would love to know a little more about some elements of that family.

I particularly liked the part where Olive tells her boss the truth! It was a breath of fresh hair, the honesty and for her to be a heroine who doesn’t walk around the entire book with a lie. The ending was not bad but I expected a little more dialogue between Ethan and Olive, in my opinion they didn’t solve the trust problems, at all. But overall it was a good ending, a Hollywood ending. Which makes me think that this book deserves a movie, don’t you agree?

In my opinion, this book deserves a 4 stars score (I wanted more)!

email: booksbytheana@gmail.com

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren [OPINION]

Leave a comment